What are they all doing in there? Stationery Cupboards, Skyscrapers and the Homeless Office Worker

The Stationery Cupboard. Oh the stationery cupboard! New review by me of Cubed, a history of the office, in the LRB http://www.lrb.co.uk/v36/n15/jenny-diski/post-its-push-pins-pencils

One thought on “What are they all doing in there? Stationery Cupboards, Skyscrapers and the Homeless Office Worker

  1. I have been mulling over your stationery cupboard piece for a while it seems, I have not worked in an office (publishing company) since 1995 and although my then boss was rather stingy I did relish the “pilfering of office supplies” and stamps (wrote about this briefly here http://maisondjeribi.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/work/) until then—I enjoyed your writing about the absolution awarded by the opportunity to grab a brand new sheet/pad/pen and I realize I have happily built my own virtual stationery cupboard through my perhaps neurotic collecting of notebooks and assorted paper and ink supplies since my childhood days (I dreamed of working at the post office then and be able to play with an artillery of rubber stamps). I have recently spotted my children’s delight at being able to just open the box I have labelled “fournitures” where an abundance of spare biros, pens, rubbers and assorted etceteras are stored, and grab what they feel they need. A shared place in paradise indeed. The real meaning of Plenty.

Leave a Reply

